First Impressions of Viña del Mar

Chile is beautiful. I flew in yesterday morning and my first view of the country was from the airplane window. I saw the mountains. They are so huge and majestic!  I wish I had a picture but I didn’t think of it at the time.

DSCN2528

We landed in Santiago and took a bus to Viña del Mar. Our host families picked us up and my host mom’s name is Patti and she’s really nice. She doesn’t speak any English so that is definitely challenging. Her house is small but cute and she has a tiny dog named Ron. She is an excellent cook too! And the view from her balcony is breathtaking.

DSCN2590 DSCN2589

We explored the city and this is the beach. There are ships offshore that seem to be as big as the skyscraper buildings in the city!

DSCN2537

The street art is incredible! It’s so colourful and detailed that instead of degrading the city it only makes it better and more interesting. People also sculpt with the sand!

DSCN2546  DSCN2552

DSCN2550  DSCN2563

The beach is lined with vendors who sell handmade jewelry, clothes, and various trinkets. This little puppy is just about the cutest little thing I’ve ever seen! The other picture is of my host mom, Pattie, and her friend, Maritza. They’re so fashionable! So is everyone else in this city.

DSCN2567  DSCN2580

Here is a beautiful photo of the ocean.

DSCN2605

These are summer vacation homes that overlook the beach in the picture above this one. So cool! They have roof gardens and look like giant steps.

DSCN2606

There also are dogs everywhere! This one walked up to us.  It was so happy and friendly and I wanted to pet it so badly but the street dogs don’t have people so they are dirty and flee-ridden. “Es peligroso” and sad too. I want to keep one and clean it and call it George.

DSCN2610

This one has a little jacket on! Someone loves him 🙂 There are also horse-drawn carts everywhere.

 DSCN2545 DSCN2539

This rock has seals on it. And pelicans. what.

DSCN2633

I managed to get this excellent photo of a seal with the waves crashing against the rocks behind it.

DSCN2638

The flowers are vibrant and beautiful!

DSCN2599  DSCN2654

DSCN2652  DSCN2560

 DSCN2612

Chile is incredible! I can’t believe I’m here. The language barrier is really challenging and I think I might be slightly crazy for deciding to do this but I know it’s going to be an amazing experience.

!Viva Chile!

2 thoughts on “First Impressions of Viña del Mar

Leave a Reply

