You Look Like a Llama!

“You look like a coffee-drinking llama!” said my sister to me. Um, thanks? I think…

Yesterday at my family reunion, my aunt brought out a plastic bag full of Honduran souvenirs to give away. I spotted the poncho, said, “Whoa! A Poncho!” and tried it on. It is so soft and pink and it fits me so nice. Mum said I could keep it so I did.

DSCN1757

This is me attempting to get the perfect poncho-selfie angle but only succeeding in making my forehead look ginormous.

DSCN1763

I’m still not sure why I look like a llama though… I mean, I guess I’m wearing a poncho probably made of llama or alpaca wool.  Maybe a I could be a llama herder when I grow up!?

 

Speaking of llamas, I used to own one. His name was Oreo and he was black and white and very tall. At first, he was super cool and gave us little kisses when we put our face near him. We had a miniature donkey at the same time. His name was Brighty, and they were best friends. Brighty was very intelligent. He always watched us saddling up the horses, and decided that he wanted to saddle up Oreo. He found a tiny little rug thing and spent hours and days trying to get it onto Oreo’s back.

One day we came home to find a very self-satisfied little donkey and a very dejected looking llama. Bright had finally managed to get the thing onto Oreo. He was so proud of himself!

Unfortunately, Oreo grew up into an adult male llama and got dangerously dominant. He jumped on people!  The last straw happened one fateful day when my mum was leading him from the pasture to the barn. He charged her and knocked her down. She got a dislocated shoulder and still has problems with it to this day!

He also spit on me. I might have cried… 😦

So we sold Oreo and Brighty to a nativity scene.

That is the story of my llama.

And now I own a poncho.

Leave a Reply

