Self-talk.

“For God has not given us a spirit of timidity, but of power and love and discipline.”

(II Timothy 1: 7)

timid

Have you ever said to yourself, “That’s impossible!”

What about, “I can’t ask God for ______; I don’t deserve it.”

“If I ask God for _________ and he doesn’t give it to me, then I must be a weak Christian or maybe he doesn’t love me.”

“If I do ___ then they’ll think I’m stupid/weird/crazy/fill in the blank.”

Or, “I’m a failure because I’m not like Superchristian who leads worship and teaches Sunday school and works two jobs and has five well-behaved kids and spends four hours praying every day and invites people over for dinner every week and is beautiful and practically perfect in every way.

God can’t use me because I’m too shy, I mess up all the time, I’m addicted to _______, I can’t do squat, I hate talking to people, I talk too much, I’m prideful/fearful/bitter/sinful, I fill in the blank.

I’m unlovable because ___________________________.

I have said some variety of almost all of these things to myself either consciously or subconsciously. Believing these lies has led me to act in timidity and fear.

 

Timidity

1. a lack of courage or confidence; easily frightened.

I act in timidity because I believe a lie. 

 

Even though I know  with my head that these statements are lies, I still act as though they are true.

But God did not save me so I could live my life constantly looking over my shoulder, checking to see if I was living up to the “standard,” or worrying what others might think of me.  He saved me so that I could live boldly and courageously!

 

 Power

1. to be able

2. the ability to do something or act in a particular way, especially as a faculty or quality.

I have the power to do anything with God’s strength.

Love 

Original Greek: Agape 

1. selfless, sacrificial, unconditional love.

I am loved unconditionally and can learn to love unconditionally. 

 

Discipline

 1. To correct, to teach, to make of sound mind.

I will discipline myself to embrace what God tells me is true and strive to live according to His will. 

When I act as if I believe these three truths, then the lies lose their sting.

Self talk is a thing.  Tell yourself truth to replace the lie, and then act like you believe it. Be amazed at the results in your attitude and how you live your life.

“I can do this!”

“I don’t deserve _____, but I have a good God who loves to bless me so I’ll ask for it anyways.”

“If God doesn’t give me what I ask for, then his answer is either “Wait,” or “No, My Love, I have better plans for you.”

“I’m going to do something unconventional and it doesn’t matter what anyone thinks of it.”

I’m not like Superchristian, but I am me and that’s okay!

God uses broken people. I’m broken. God can use me.

I am lovable, loved, and able to love!

 

I hope this is encouraging to you. What are your thoughts or stories of times when you felt timid, or times when you used self-talk and acted like you believed it?

One thought on “Self-talk.

Leave a Reply

